Day 37 of Project Happiness – Pearl Barley

Status (Yesterday)

  • Meditate for 2 Minutes – Yes
  • Write about something positive for 20 minutes – Yes
  • 5 random acts of kindness per week  – 1/5
  • Take 3 x 30 minute walks per week – 1/3
  • Unnecessary items bought – 1
  • Total car miles saved – 70

I am so pleased with myself today, I have made a fab salad for lunch.  I’ve never tried Pearl Barley before, and I have discovered it’s scrummy!  I put in it –

  • Pearl Barley
  • Black Beans
  • Sweetcorn kernals
  • Orange Pepper
  • Sundried tomatos
  • Cucumber
  • Mixed lettuce
  • Sunflower seeds
  • Pumpkin seeds
  • Avocado

And then I made a garlic and lemon olive oil dressing.  Absolutely gorgeous!  I would have taken a photo, but by the time I thought of it, it was all gone 🙂  Actually, I do have some in the fridge for lunch tomorrow. Result!

I have just heard from middle sproglet that her Maths GCSE went ‘REALLY WELL!’ which I’m very pleased about, and will be taking her for a nice gallopy hack later to celebrate.

I have splurged out on the book from the blog I linked to yesterday.  It should arrive tomorrow, in time for my week away (which starts with a 6 hour train journey) so I’m hoping I will be able to take it with me, and will actually have some time to read it.  Really want to get some proper ideas on how to properly start on my road to financial freedom, and looking forwards to putting together my plan.

I’ve spent some of the morning chasing up my life insurance people again, but have finally got it sorted today – Yay!  Vitality customer services really are appalling.  It’s taken me numerous emails and phone calls to get the points from my fitness assessment in early April added to my account.  They have offered to refund my health assessment checks, and the cinema tickets we bought because our codes didn’t work which is nice, but this isn’t the first time I’ve had problems.  Fingers crossed things get better, as I love the concept, and am definitely all about a healthy life style.

Last night I took middle sproglet to an NCS meeting.  It seems like a fantastic (government run) initiative, which gives young people the opportunity to go away from home and take part in things they might not otherwise get a chance to do, get them thinking about community issues and what they can do to help, and teach them all kind of useful life skills; planning, communicating, budgeting etc. which will be useful to them personally, as well as potentially in their career.  It’s run over a number of weeks, and seems well organised, with enthusiastic and dedicated staff, and Sproglet seems quite excited by it all.  It will be interesting to see what she gets out of it, other than an amazing week doing zip wiring and kayaking etc. 🙂

Only a quick update today as I’ve already used up my lunch break.

EN

Leave a Reply

