Day 31 of Project Happiness –

Status (Yesterday)

  • Meditate for 2 Minutes – Yes
  • Write about something positive for 20 minutes – Yes
  • 5 random acts of kindness per week  – 2/5
  • Take 3 x 30 minute walks per week – 1/3
  • Unnecessary items bought today – 0
  • Total car miles saved – 60

Whoo hoo!! It’s Friday, and I have definitely got that Friday feeling!  Well, I have if that Friday Feeling is to chill out at home with an alcohol free beer, some tortilla, and then some vegan veggie pizza and something inane on the TV.  Wow, I know how to rock n’ roll! When did it all change?  Friday used to be off down my local (The Bridgers, which later became The Dolphin, where I met Mr EN), drink as much vodka as I could, and then mosey on down to the local rock club; The Ag.  Hang out there until it closed or I got kicked out, which happened on more than one occasion.  Was I happy then I wonder?  I think so, but it was all very teen angst ridden.  Stresses of college, boys, parents, what I was going to do with my life etc. etc.  I much prefer things as they are now, but the old stressy me still pops up every now and again, as it has this week.

When I analyse it though, the route cause has changed.  I believe I am much happier in myself.  I have come to like me a lot.  The book I am reading recommends you learn to love yourself, and although I’m not convinced I’m there yet (I’m FAR too self critical), I’m getting very close.  However, I don’t think I have my ikigai really sorted yet (see previous post here), and thus I spend a lot of time doing the following :

  • Sweating every single decision, however small and meaningless.
  • Procrastinating, because my brain is overloaded through sweating every small decision.
  • Trying to multitask, despite the fact that I’m blatantly still of the original single core human model.

I’ve read some really interesting things in the current happiness book (The Happiness Equation by Neil Pasricha)which have really stood out to me.

“You can’t go through the day distracted by trivia.”

-President Obama.

Both he and Mark Zuckerberg have taken this sentiment onboard, and applied it to their lives.  In a style very typical of the computerised world we live in, they have automated parts of their lives, in order to free time up for the important stuff, and free their brain up for the important decisions.  They both buy multiple clothes in the same colour, or even the same clothes, so that they don’t need to think about what to wear.  Genius!  I mean, that’s what I do at work.  Automate tests to free testers up to do more meaningful intelligent tests which computers can’t do.  Why on earth didn’t I think of applying it to my life?  My husband is very sceptical that I could take on the clothes idea (hurmph!) but it could be applied further, like an automated monthly shop of all cleaning and bathroom products, setting up a shop every week with my core basics, doing more batch cooking.  When I look at what I spend most time doing, I think it comes down to :

  • The weekly shop
  • Deciding what to eat for dinner
  • Deciding what to take for lunch (especially now I’m trying for a plant based diet)
  • Deciding what on my to do list to do next!

So, to try and solve this, I have decided to do the following :

  1. Set up a repeat order for my cleaning stuff
  2. Set up my core basics to automatically add to my shopping basket when I do my weekly shop
  3. Spend Sunday evening making up a batch of salad/pasta/rice to do at least two days of lunches for the week.
  4. Spend Sunday evening also making the sugar free cakes/biscuits for mini EN and I to take as snacks.
  5. Plan in at least one meal a week which I can make more of and take to work the next day for lunch.

This poem is also in the book :

Lesiure

This really resonates with me.  I am very aware that this is my one and only chance at life, and I want to make sure I make the most of it.  I don’t mean by visiting every country in the world, or becoming a millionaire or anything like that.  But I feel truly fortunate to be where I am today; living in a great country, in a lovely town, a super house and with a fantastic family around me.  To borrow again from Neil Pasricha, we really have won the lottery in that respect.  We are the lucky few, who have it so easy, and it’s almost a tragedy to not make the most of that.  I don’t want to be one of those people who when I’m on my death bed, look back and wish I’d spent more time with my family, less time working and more time doing what I want to do.

Anyway, to finish off, my random act of kindness, was more just what any good neighbour would do.  I heard my neighbours having a heated debate the other day, and when I came to speak with her today I noticed she had a black eye.  I spoke with her about it and she has told me that it was an accident with a dog cage, but I have my doubts.  I checked with her, and she denied that it was anything else, but I have also told her that if ever she has any need, she can come round to us any time at all for some time out.

Plant based diet yesterday :

  • Breakfast – Tea, toast and marmite
  • Lunch – Vegan cheese, chutney, lettuce on homemade bread
  • Snack – Home made ginger cookies
  • Dinner – Pasta with quorn, peppers and soy yoghurt.

EN

 

Leave a Reply

