Day 24 of Project Happiness – Lost!

Status

  • Meditate for 2 Minutes – Not Yet, but I will later
  • Write about something positive for 20 minutes – ✔
  • 5 random  acts of kindness per week  – 1/5
  • Take 3 x 30 minute walks per week – 0/3
  • Unnecessary items bought today – 0
  • Total car miles saved – 60 (10 today)

Today I woke up a keen bean, looking forwards to my longest bike ride to date.  I had planned in an 18 miler, extending my previous best of 11, going through what looked to be some pretty villages.  Unfortunately things didn’t start well, as I forgot my route plan.  However, I had written the villages I planned to ride through on my hand, so undeterred, set off.  The weather wasn’t as good as Tuesday, with a hint of drizzle, but still a nice enough morning.  However, things quickly started going wrong.  I decided against a left turn which in hindsight I should have taken, and never recovered from there.  Out of the 5 villages I planned to go through, I found one!!  I also ended up turning back after a mile and a half convinced I was going the wrong way.  On examining the route my garmin had tracked later, I realised that I was actually heading the opposite way up the road I originally should have gone down, but decided not to.  Doh!  Anway, it was a bit of a mental battle, but I was able to remind myself that it didn’t matter where I went, the plan had been to do 18 miles, and I ended up doing 17.5, so mission accomplished.  I was also pleased to see that despite all my faffing whilst trying to decide which way to go, I managed to achieve an average of 13.5mph.  The shoulder was definitely not happy, so no doubt I will suffer on my ride home.  I have also discovered that the padded knickers I bought for riding, but weren’t comfortable, are equally as, if not more so, uncomfortable on a bike.  I’m going to have to do some research here, because even after a mere 17.5 miles I was rather uncomfortable in the nether regions, and I think another 10 miles and even if Jonny Depp himself, dressed in the full pirate costume and complete with dodgy but strangely sexy make-up had come begging for a session of hot and steamy sex, I would have sent him packing :O

captain_jack_sparrow

Tonight, with mini EN away on a school residential, and the elder 2 out at clubs, Mr EN and myself have a rare few hours together on our own, so I’m looking forwards to a nice takeaway curry, and maybe a film.

Plant based diet today has been good (other than eggs again)

  • Breakfast – Bagel and scrambled egg (I wanted fuel for my ‘long’ ride)
  • Snack – Satsuma, apple, carrot sticks and humus.
  • Lunch – Veggy rice
  • Snack – Carrot and walnut muffins
  • Dinner – Curry  🙂

 

Leave a Reply

