Day 22 of Project Happiness – Cheese!

Status

  • Meditate for 2 Minutes – ✔
  • Write about something positive for 20 minutes – ✔
  • 5 random  acts of kindness per week  – 1/5
  • Take 3 x 30 minute walks per week – 0/3
  • Unnecessary items bought today – 0
  • Total car miles saved – 50 (10 today)

Cheese has been on my mind quite a bit recently.  I LOVE cheese,  like kids love chocolate, like cats love mice,  like politicians love lying.  I’ve been frankly amazed at my self  restraint.  I haven’t bothered the brie, stayed clear of the stilton, and I’ve successfully avoided chomping on any cheddar.  But I am starting to drool at the mere mention of the word cheese.  So I did some research online, as to what people seem to think is ok with regards to ‘fake’ cheese, and then went online shopping with a vengence.  I am now the proud owner of a tub of violife cream ‘cheese’, some violife ‘chedddar’, and some Tesco’s smoky ‘cheddar’.

cheese

I got up quite excited, and rushed down to start my day with some sesame bagels,  and ‘cream cheese’, with a cuppa.  Well, despite my excitement, I will admit to secretly believing it was going to be, well, minging.  Because of this I did spread it very much more thinly than I would  with ‘normal’ cream cheese, and my first bite was fairly tentative.  I was relieved to find though, that it was actually alright.  I wouldn’t go so far as to say it was great, it had a strange kind of sub taste to it, which I guess is just the soy,  and I think if it wasn’t cold it would  be more noticeable, but it was a fairly good imitation of a bagel with cream cheese.  Result!  I will definitely be buying again, and might keep me away from the scrambled eggs more often!

Lunch time was a sarnie with the Tescos Smoked  cheese.  I combined it with some baby leaf spinach and some tomato and chilli chutney.  Again, not bad.  It reminded me of the very cheap cheese I used to buy as a student!  It will do when I don’t have time to properly make something.  I’m saving the violife cheddar for pizza night on Friday.  Fingers crossed 🙂

Had a wonderful bike ride this morning.  Extended my usual ride to just under 11 miles.  The route was beautiful, through country lanes bordered  with farmland and the associated wildlife.  The weather was superb again,  and it was just a joy.  My dodgy shoulder held up quite well, just twinging towards the end,  and I think I am definitely going to invest in some  tri bars for it, as I really like having my borrowed ones there for an extra position to ease the pain with.  The way home was also a good ride, just did the point to point 5 mile route, but shoulder was much more painful.  I have some exercises which I’m hoping might help, but need to actually start doing them to find out for sure….!  Planning a 19 miler for Thursday morning – just got to prise my bum out of bed in time to fit it in before work.

So, aspiring Vegan diet today was a success!

  • Breakfast – Sesame bagel with violife cream  cheese
  • Snack – Green smoothie (banana, 1 cup spinach, handful of blueberries, handful frozen summer berries, coconut milk), satsuma, loads of pink grapes – they were just lush!
  • Lunch – Sandwich with Tescos smoked cheese, spinach, tomato and chilli chutney
  • Snack – Doritos
  • Snack – Ritz crackers
  • Dinnner – Stir fry with Quorn vegan pieces,  veg,  noodles, and home made garlic, ginger and soy sauce.
Leave a Reply

