Day 21 of Project Happiness – Vegan mugcake

Status – New week

  • Meditate for 2 Minutes – ✔
  • Write about something positive for 20 minutes – ✔
  • 5 random  acts of kindness per week  – 1/5
  • Take 3 x 30 minute walks per week – 0/3
  • Unnecessary items bought today – 0
  • Total car miles saved – 40

Today I waved goodbye to youngest EN, who is off on a residential with school for 5 days for the first time!  Mini EN was almost beside herself with excitement, and is probably still bouncing about in her  dorm even now. 🙂  I wrote her a note,  and got Mr EN and the 2 sisters to also write notes,  so she has one a day to open whilst  she’s away (I’ve counted that as a random act of kindness) 🙂

I’m really pleased with my henna hair.  It’s come out a lovely natural colour, great condition, shiny in the sun, and best of all, it doesn’t smell!!  RESULT!!

Had a lovely (if rather sedate) hack on the kids pony after work today.  He obviously doesn’t share my need for speed,  but that’s probably a good thing as he’s there to look after the kids, not an adrenaline junkie who should  know better 🙂  However, since my mare is lame, it was just nice to be able to get out, get some fresh air,  and admire the beautiful rainbow peeking out from the edge of the storm which was threatening to come get us.  It rumbled menacingly at us a few times,  but we managed to dodge it and come back dry.

After dinner I was still hungry, so googled for vegan mug cakes, and came across this one, which worked rather well!  I adapted it to be sugar (fructose) free, and reduced it, as I find 4 tablespoons is just too much for lil’ ol me 🙂

  • 2 tbsp self raising flour
  • 2 tbsp dextrose
  • 1 tbsp cocoa
  • 1.5 tbsp oil – I used rapeseed but will try vegetable next time.
  • 2.5 tbsp soy milk
  • 1/8 tbsp bicarb soda.

I think it needed to be a bit sweeter,  so may either add an extra 1/2 tbsp dextrose,  or maybe some rice malt syrup,  and will definitely add 0.5tsp vanilla next time.  I cooked it for 1.5 minutes on full in the microwave and it came out lovely and light and fluffy, and just needed that bit of extra sweetness I thought.

Had an interesting discussion today with a colleague who is very very eco aware, and he does not buy into the argument that being vegetarian/vegan is important to reducing climate change.  I need to do more research into this as I am  just not sure, there are so  many conflicting pieces of advice out there.  However,  whilst looking into it briefly I did come across some really interesting sites, including :

http://www.skepticalscience.com/how-much-meat-contribute-to-gw.html

and

http://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/damien-clarkson/cop21_b_8818916.html

Anyway, my aspiring vegan/plant based diet, has been ok today.

  • Breakfast – HM vegan toast with marmite
  • Snack – Apple
  • Lunch – HM vegan bread, hummus with slow roasted cherry tomatos
  • Snack – Digestive
  • Dinner – Vegan burger,  chips,  onion rings,  sweetcorn.
  • Pudding – Vegan mug cake!!

EN

Leave a Reply

