Day 14 of Project Happiness -Baking

Status

  • Meditate for 2 minutes – 
  • Write about something positive for 20 minutes – 
  • 5 random acts of kindness per week – 0/5
  • Take 3 x 30 minute walks per week – 1/3
  • Unnecessary items bought today – 0
  • Total car miles saved – 30 (10 today)

A lovely day again today.  Very pleased to be out on the bike – in shorts no less!  Great easy ride in,  and then headed back to the yard after work for youngest EN to have a ride on the pony, and I did some  clicker training with my mare who is still lame.  She loves having something fun to do like this, and it’s great watching her match her movements to mine, following me around the school.  I read somewhere that activities like this can be a form of mindfulness in itself, because it’s so all encompassing.  I certainly find it during riding, but today working with her and understanding what she was making of it all I found the same thing.  The half hour passed in a flash 🙂

I have worked on my ikigai after my last post, and think I have it sussed.  Although climate change is a really important issue to me, this is definitely what gets me up in the morning.

ikigai

Tonight has been busy with various child related activities,  but I am currently sat here writing this, waiting for my vegan banana muffins to rise.  I’m very intrigued to see how these turn out as the ingredients are fairly straight forwards.  However, I will definitely have to be more prepared in future as they take 1hr45m to prove(!)  I’m pretty knackered as it is, so I hope I stay awake for long enough!

Recipe from I LOVE VEGAN.com

Of course, I had to make a few changes.  I used dextrose instead of organic cane sugar, and used 3 tablespoons of rice malt syrup instead of brown sugar.  Being in the UK I also have no idea what pastry flour is.  So instead I’ve used  2 tablespoons of cornflour, 3/4 cup of wholewheat bread flour, and 3/4 cup self raising flour.  I’ve noticed that they state a teaspoon of baking powder, but I can’t find anywhere in the recipe where it’s used.  Therefore, unfortunately my cakes don’t have any in.  Fingers crossed they turn out well, otherwise mini EN is going to be very disappointed as she loves the usual banana muffins I make and looked rather dubious at the thought of vegan ones!

Vegan diet today :

  • Breakfast – Homemade vegan bread,  vegan spread, marmite.
  • Snack – Slice of bread and butter
  • Lunch – Eggplant soba noodles from Eat like you give a f*ck
  • Snack – Flapjack
  • Dinner – Fish,  chips, beans.

EN

Leave a Reply

