Day 11 of Project Happiness – Swallow!

  • Meditate for 2 minutes – 
  • Write about something positive for 20 minutes – 
  • 5 random acts of kindness per week – 2/5
  • Take 3 x 30 minute walks per week – 0/3
  • Unnecessary items bought today – 0
  • Total car miles saved – 20 (10 today)

Today’s positive had me beaming from ear to ear.  I had gone to fetch the pony from the field, and she was quite a long way down, looking rather unenthusiastically at my arrival.  We started trudging back up the field towards the yard, and were immediately joined by a small flock, about 10 birds, of what I thought were swifts, but now having checked the RSPB site I think are swallows; swooping and diving all around us.

swallow_tcm9-18469

“Swallows are small birds with dark, glossy-blue backs, red throats, pale underparts and long tail streamers.” – RSPB Website

I assumed initially that they were after the insects around the horse dung, but to my surprise they stayed with us ALL the way up the field.  The were swooping only a couple of inches off the ground, wheeling round then coming back at us again.  They were so close I thought one was going to hit my leg on one occasion.  They were really pretty up close, I had thought they were black and white, but up close in the light their feathers have an iridescent blue shine to them,  absolutely gorgeous.  They reminded me of a humming bird as they seemed to hover at times as they banked and changed direction.  They were chirping as they went past too, so I tried chirping back at them, not sure if they noticed or not though!

Had a good cycle to and from work, despite the wind and grey weather, and eldest EN sprog had a lovely ride on the pony who looks like he’s feeling better now.  She is starting up a tack cleaning venture at the yard, so has been practising taking my tack apart and putting it back together which has been amusing for me if nothing else. 🙂

Vegan venture has definitely failed for me today.  Friday is pizza day in my house, and I still haven’t found a quick, easy and tasty alternative.  Mr EN bought me a veggie shop one which I ate some of.  Interestingly, I ran out of rice milk at work and was gasping for a cuppa so had cows milk.  Ewww!  I thought the first lot must have been off, but turns out it’s just me!  My taste buds seem to be changing.  My pizza tasted odd too!

  • Breakfast – Beans on toast
  • Snack – Breadsticks and hummus
  • Lunch – Mixed vegetables with barley and endame beans.
  • Snack – Flapjack
  • Snack 3(!) – Marmite on vegan hm bread
  • Dinner – Pizza 😦

EN

Leave a Reply

