Day 10 of Project Happiness – A very good cause

Status :

  • Meditate for 2 minutes – 
  • Write about something positive for 20 minutes – 
  • 5 random acts of kindness per week – 2/5
  • Take 3 x 30 minute walks per week – 0/3
  • Unnecessary items bought today – 0
  • Total car miles saved – 10 (10 today)

What a simply wonderful spring/summer day!  A nice breeze keeping things fresh, but the sun was out in all it’s glory, and nature was proudly showing off all the frills on her skirt.  I cycled in to work today and it was glorious, I felt absurdly lucky to be fit enough to do this ride, and to be in a location that offers me such sublime scenery to enjoy en route.  The lambs are getting bigger now, and the sound of them calling to each other fills the air as I cruise along.  We’ve had a lot of rainfall recently which means the streams I cycle over are very full, and rather than merrily babbling along, this morning seemed like they were on a very important  mission.  I love how much more wildlife I discover on my bike; it’s so much quieter that the car that the animals don’t seem to mind so much, and I have rabbits nibbling away and paying me no attention as I whoosh past, and the other morning I had a red kite swoop right over my head as he came in to rest on a fence by the side of the road.

kite

So another 10 miles I didn’t have to do in the car.  Hmmm, I ought to keep a record of how many miles I save……added to the status 🙂

My act of kindness is actually one of my huge positives of today, and I am just so so pleased I can help in this way.  The yard where I keep my ponies has it’s own facebook group, and a lady who’s children used to ride there posted today about her friend’s 4 year old daughter who is currently undergoing aggressive cancer treatment.  Apparently all this little girl wants is to spend time with a pony and have a ride.  They’d had something arranged but it had fallen through.  I immediately offered them some time with my children’s pony.  He’s already used every week for Riding for the Disabled Association, and is very well behaved, and he’s incredibly cute, although will be quite big for this little one.  They were very pleased to find something, and so she and her cousin are coming to visit on Sunday.  My eldest daughter and I are going down in the morning to give him a bath so he looks gorgeous, as the woman who arranged it is a photographer and is going to come and take some piccies of them all.  How fantastic to be able to help in this way!

Vegan food has suffered today.  I started off really well by making a fresh vegan loaf, by replacing the butter with olive oil.  It’s actually delicious!

bread

Unfortunately though, I always struggle with what to fill it with….and put on it.

  • Breakfast – poached egg on toast
  • Snack – Green smoothie
  • Lunch – Tuna and mayo sarnie
  • Dinner – Very unhealthy spring roll, onion rings and chips from the fish and chip shop!!

Green smoothie recipe – was ok, but too many pea shoots I think made it taste weird.

  • 1 cup of kale salad (including spinach and peashoots)
  • 1 banana
  • 1 round of melon
  • coconut milk to cover.

EN

 

Leave a Reply

